September 15 – International Day of Democracy

Democracy as a political system, based on free and equal participation of all legally capable citizens in government of a state, on the realization of political will of the majority with steady observance of the rights of minorities, on the rule of law and the observance of human rights, is one of the most important achievements of the civilization


January 10, 2018

Numbers of refugees in USA fall under President Trump

Under the presidency of Donald Trump, the USA accepted 29,022 refugees, which is the lowest number since 2002, USA Today writes with reference to the Department of State, UNN reports. 

The agency writes that “the previous low during that time frame came in 2002, when the U.S. slowed down all avenues of legal immigration following the terrorist attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.” 

It is indicated that “the annual refugee cap… hovered between 70,000 and 80,000 under the Bush and Obama administrations.” In 2016, 94,800 persons moved to the USA according to the programme, which covers people, who are subject to persecutions in their native countries on political, national, religious or other grounds. 

USA Today reminds that during his election campaign Trump promised to intensify the country’s immigration policy. In December 2015, he even spoke for the complete entry ban for all Muslims, before it is possible to understand why the hatred of all Islam followers towards Americans “is beyond comprehension.” 

A week after inauguration on January 20, 2017, Trump signed a document aimed at the improvement of the public safety in the USA. In particular, the executive order set forth the immigration ban for 120 days in order to analyze the existing verification procedures for forced migrants. 

The US President stated that terrorists might enter the country pretending to be refugees. In October, Trump signed an order establishing the quota allowing to accept 45,000 refugees maximum in the fiscal year 2018 (which started on October 1, 2017).

 USA Today also notes that the executive order “barred citizens of 11 countries — identified by refugee agencies as Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Refugees from those countries accounted for 44% of admissions to the U.S. in the 2017 fiscal year that ended Sept. 30,” the news agency notes.